Sunday, November 6, 2011

Is it worth it to get a Psy.D?

I have about a year left before I obtain my B.A. in Psychology and I really want to attend graduate and receive either a Ph.D or a Psy.D. After talking with my advisor he said that I should probably aim for a Masters degree first because of my gpa (3.0) which I just got up. I had a bad freshman year in college and at one point my gpa was a 2.6. Anyway im more interested in the actual practice of the field in psychology and I want to do some kind of counseling and therapy and be involved in the field. My advisor said my best chance is probably gong to a school like Argosy or something like that and getting a M.A. there because of my gpa. He also then told me that I could pursue a Psy.D but that they are not as respectable as Ph.D's. So im kind of confused after all of this. I don't know if its even worth getting a Psy.D or if I should aim for a Ph.D. or if I should settle for a masters or maybe just forget it all together and be happy with my B.A. Anybody with any experience in the field of psychology your help and advice would greatly be appreciated. Thank you.

No comments:

Post a Comment